Skip to Content

Interoperability and Health Information Standards

Interoperability and Health Information Standards

Interoperability ensures that health information is secure, accessible, and can be exchanged between health information systems for the purposes of demonstrating and improving health care outcomes including nutrition outcomes. Health information technology standards provide the expectations and rules for data sharing among health information systems. The international standards setting organization for electronic health records (EHRs) is Health Level Seven (HL7). Standards, combined with standardized health terminologies, promotes meaningful exchange of health information.

Through CDR’s Interoperability and Standards Committee, nutrition standards are developed to ensure that the nutrition care process is included and represented correctly in healthcare standards. These standards are intended to improve the efficiency of outcomes data collection, decision support, quality, and streamline nutrition care workflow.

HL7 FHIR Nutrition Standards Meetings

The dedicated space for nutrition on HL7’s confluence platform is available and confluence accounts are free to anyone: 

Published Nutrition Standards

Standards published to support the nutrition care process:

Research About Technology Use by Nutrition and Dietetics Practitioners

Starting in 2007 and approximately every three to four years following, the Academy has conducted a survey related to the use of technology by nutrition and dietetics practitioners. The most recent publication: Hamady CM, Pellechia K, Atkinson BE, et al. 2019 Nutrition Informatics Survey: Results and Future Directions. J Acad Nutr Diet. 2021;121(11):2301-2309. doi:10.1016/j.jand.2020.12.009 (sign-in required)

Additional Resources to Support How to Demonstrate Quality Nutrition Care
Back to top ^